Annual Conference 2010
University of Regina
Department of Music

June 3-6, 2010

Call for Scores

The Canadian University Music Society is pleased to announce a call for scores for its 2010 conference, to be held at the University of Regina, June 3–6, 2010. While all submissions―both student and non-student―are welcome and will be considered for inclusion in the concert program, the Canadian University Music Society and the University of Regina will provide a prize totaling $500 for the best composition by a student composer. The jury reserves the right not to award the cash prize if no worthy score is submitted by a student. Students whose compositions are selected for performance may be eligible for partial reimbursement of travel and accommodation expenses, in accordance with CUMS guidelines (receipts are required).

All submissions should be from Canadian citizens or permanent residents, or non-Canadians affiliated with a CUMS member institution.

The score or scores chosen will be performed at a concert on the evening of June 4, 2010, 8:00 p.m. in Regina by soprano Sophie Bouffard and the U of R New Music Ensemble, directed by Alain Perron.

Scores submitted must conform to the following specifications:

  1. a five- to eight-minute work (in a single movement or multiple movements);
  2. scored for soprano and accompaniment consisting of three or more members of the following chamber ensemble: 2 flutes (1st doubling on piccolo, if desired), 2 clarinets (1st doubling on bass clarinet, if desired), violin, viola, cello & piano;
  3. a vocal text in any of the following languages: English, French, Italian, Spanish, German or Latin.

Guidelines for submitting scores:

  1. Submission of a score to the competition denotes willingness and ability to attend the 2010 CUMS conference.
  2. Each composer may submit up to two scores.
  3. Scores should not give any indication of the composer’s name or affiliation(s). A   cover letter should accompany the score, indicating the composer’s name, institutional affiliation (if any), telephone number(s), postal and email addresses, the title of the work submitted, the instrumentation, and the duration of the work.
  4. Four (4) copies of each score should be submitted, along with four copies of an audio (or MIDI) recording on CD, if available, and―if the language of the chosen text is not French or English―four copies of a French or English translation, or paraphrase, of the text.  PDF files of scores and MP3 audio files may also be included.
  5. Submissions must be postmarked by Friday, January 22, 2010.  Late submissions and/ or illegible scores/parts will not be considered.
  6. At the time of performance, composers whose scores are selected for performance must be members in good standing of the Society and must have registered for the conference. Annual membership dues are $60 for regular members, and $30 for part-time faculty, students, independent scholars, and retired persons. Membership applications are available on the CUMS Web site ( or by contacting CUMS,  c/o Becker & Associates, 10 Morrow Avenue, Suite 202, Toronto, Ontario, M6R 2J1; (416) 483-7282 (phone), 489-1713 (fax), or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. (e-mail).
  7. Submissions that do not conform to these guidelines cannot be considered.
  8. Winners whose pieces are selected for performance must submit legible parts by Friday, April 16, 2010 at the latest.
  9. Composers who wish their materials to be returned: please enclose a self-addressed, stamped envelope.

Please send materials to:

Dr. Alain Perron
Associate Professor
Department of Music
of Regina
3737 Wascana Parkway
Regina, SK, Canada S4S 0A2

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Office: (306) 585-5201 / Fax: (306) 585-5549

Selection Process:

Members of the jury will be Alain Perron (Chair), Sophie Bouffard (soprano soloist for the concert), John Burge (Queen’s University), and James Harley (Guelph University).  From the best student composition(s), the jury will select up to two pieces: the winning submission ($500 prize) and, if appropriate, a runner-up (honourable mention). The number of scores selected to be performed at the June 4, 2010 concert will be at the discretion of the jury and, in addition to the winning student submission, will consist of no more than one other submission.  The winners will be announced by Monday, March 15, 2010. Winners whose pieces are selected for performance must submit legible parts by Friday, April 16, 2010 at the latest.

MusCan Office

MusCan is led by a committed community of volunteers from across Canada. You can contact our secretariat by mail, phone, or email.

10 Morrow Avenue, Suite 202
Toronto, ON
M6R 2J1
office [AT]