Dear Colleagues,

We are delighted to inform you that the first in our four-volume series Analytical Essays on Music by Women Composers has now been published by Oxford University Press. The collection, Concert Music, 1960–2000, includes chapters on music by Ursula Mamlok by Joseph N. Straus, Norma Beecroft by Christoph Neidhöfer, Joan Tower by Jonathan W. Bernard, Sofia Gubaidulina by Judy Lochhead, Chen Yi by Nancy Rao, Kaija Saariaho by John Roeder, Libby Larsen by Brenda Ravenscroft, and Elisabeth Lutyens by Laurel Parsons. 

We invite you to peruse these studies and to use them to launch your own explorations into this rich and rewarding repertoire.

Laurel Parsons and Brenda Ravenscroft

From the jacket:
"This impressive, ground-breaking publication inaugurates a multi-volume series that urges scholars, teachers, listeners, and performers to give outstanding music by women the attention it so much deserves.” Janet Schmalfeldt


Brenda Ravenscroft, Ph.D.

Associate Dean
Faculty of Arts and Science

Associate Professor
School of Music

Queen’s University
Kingston, ON
Canada K7L 3N6

MusCan Office

MusCan is led by a committed community of volunteers from across Canada. You can contact our secretariat by mail, phone, or email.

10 Morrow Avenue, Suite 202
Toronto, ON
M6R 2J1
office [AT]