The Canadian University Music Society is pleased to announce that Naithan Bosse is the winner of the 2016 Student Composer Competition.

The jury selected Naithan Bosse’s outstanding work: Feedforward as the First Prize winner. This chamber work for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, piano and vibraphone was performed by University of Calgary faculty members and students as part of a concert of contemporary music presented on June 2, 2016 at Eckhardt-Gramatté Hall, University of Calgary. 

Naithan Bosse is a composer, guitarist, and music teacher from Sechelt, British Columbia. He writes music for acoustic, electroacoustic, and interactive electronic media. He has been the recipient of several research awards and scholarships including a Joseph Armand Bombardier Canada Graduate Scholarship and a UBC Arts Graduate Research Award. Bosse holds Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees from the University of British Columbia (BMus composition/guitar, MMus composition) and is currently pursuing a PhD in composition at the University of Calgary where his research focuses on interactive computer music and networked music performance.

The Student Composer Competition is open to any university student who is a Canadian citizen or landed immigrant or who is studying at a Canadian institution, does not yet hold a doctorate and does not hold a full-time teaching position. The competition takes place in conjunction with the annual meeting of the Canadian University Music Society.

PDF Version


The Canadian University Music Society and the SOCAN Foundation are pleased to announce that Annalise Smith is the recipient of the 2016 SOCAN Foundation/George Proctor Prize for her presentation entitled “Directorial Influence at the Paris Opéra: The Case of Devismes du Valgay.”

The SOCAN Foundation/George Proctor Prize is awarded for the best paper presented by a graduate student at the annual conference of the Canadian University Music Society.  This award is for original research in any recognized branch of musical scholarship.

Annalise Smith is a doctoral candidate in historical musicology at Cornell University. Her research, supported by a SSHRC Doctoral Fellowship, focuses on late eighteenth-century French opera, particularly the operas of Christoph Gluck, the genre norms of operatic practice, and the politics and culture of the theatre before the French Revolution. Other interests include the intersection between music and the supernatural in the long eighteenth century, including magical instruments in folklore, and vocal identities in modern performance. Her research has been published in the graduate journal Musicological Explorations and Early Music America. Annalise holds a diploma in vocal performance, and has degrees from the University of Calgary (2008) and the University of Victoria (2011). For the past several years Annalise has taught voice at Cornell, and she remains an active performer in the university community. She currently teaches music history at Ithaca College. 

The Canadian University Music Society gratefully acknowledges the generous financial support of the SOCAN Foundation in the awarding of this prize.


PDF Version

Dear Colleagues,

We are delighted to inform you that the first in our four-volume series Analytical Essays on Music by Women Composers has now been published by Oxford University Press. The collection, Concert Music, 1960–2000, includes chapters on music by Ursula Mamlok by Joseph N. Straus, Norma Beecroft by Christoph Neidhöfer, Joan Tower by Jonathan W. Bernard, Sofia Gubaidulina by Judy Lochhead, Chen Yi by Nancy Rao, Kaija Saariaho by John Roeder, Libby Larsen by Brenda Ravenscroft, and Elisabeth Lutyens by Laurel Parsons. 


Masters and Doctoral Scholarship ‘Quebec-Bali (1970-2000)’
Laboratoire Musique, histoire et société (LMHS)
Équipe « Musique moderniste régionale » (MMR)

Observatoire interdisciplinaire de création et de recherche en musique (OICRM)
Faculty of Music
Université de Montréal

As part of its activities and with the financial support of the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC), the research team Regional modernist music (MMR) of the Laboratory Music, History and Society (LMHS) has made available two graduate scholarships, one for master’s and one for doctoral studies ($17 000 per year for two years for the master’s scholarship and $19 000 per year for three years for the doctoral scholarship). The competition is open to Canadian citizens or foreign nationals  who wish to pursue masters level or doctoral studies on a subject related to contemporary music in Quebec and the influence of Balinese gamelan on composers such as Claude Vivier, José Evangelista, John Rea, Gilles Tremblay, Walter Boudreau, etc.

MusCan Office

MusCan is led by a committed community of volunteers from across Canada. You can contact our secretariat by mail, phone, or email.

10 Morrow Avenue, Suite 202
Toronto, ON
M6R 2J1
office [AT]