Call For Submission: Wiley Housewright Dissertation Award

The Society for American Music announces its annual competition for a dissertation on any topic relating to American music. The dissertation must be in English, and must be for a degree awarded in calendar year 2012. Further information for submission can be found at

The Wiley Housewright Dissertation Award is designed to recognize a single dissertation on American music for its exceptional depth, clarity, significance, and overall contribution to the field. American music is interpreted in all its historical and contemporary styles and contexts, including, but not limited to art and popular musics, the musics of ethnic groups and minorities, and the full range of activities associated with music. "America" is understood here to embrace North America (Canada, The United States, and Mexico), including Central America and the Caribbean, and aspects of its cultures elsewhere in the world.

The Award carries with it a monetary prize as well as a citation that will be presented at the national conference in the spring of 2014. A list of previous award winners, from 1995 to the present, may be viewed here. (embed <>

The deadline for submission is June 1, 2013.

Mount Allison professor wins prestigious American Musicological Society award

MEDIA CONTACTS: Aloma Jardine, Mount Allison University, 506-364-2600 (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.)

SACKVILLE, NB — Mount Allison Music professor Dr. Elizabeth Wells has been honoured by the American Musicological Society (AMS) with the Music in American Culture Award. The accolade was announced on Saturday, Nov. 3 during the society’s 78th annual meeting, held in New Orleans.

The Music in American Culture Award recognizes the best writing on music in American culture, choosing one book of exceptional merit each year that highlights an important aspect of American music and places that music in a rich cultural context.

Wells was recognized for her book West Side Story: Cultural Perspectives on an American Musical, which was published in 2011 by Scarecrow Press.

“It is a tremendous honour to be recognized by my discipline with the Music in American Culture Award,” Wells says. “There are many wonderful scholars working in the field of American music, so it is particularly gratifying to be recognized in a wide and competitive pool for my work on West Side Story.”

Wells’ book is a scholarly study of the American musical classic West Side Story, exploring the ways in which it reflects American culture from a cultural, historical, and musical perspective, and looking at the complexities of Broadway in the 1950s. Through documentary sources as well as interviews with members of the original creative team — which included Stephen Sondheim and Arthur Laurents — Wells’ also explains how West Side Story went from a work likely to be a footnote in American musicalhistory to one of the most beloved American musicals of all time.

“The Music in American Culture Award is a new award for the American Musicological Society, established in 2009 with support from the National Endowment for the Humanities, the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, and the Gladys Kriebel Delmas Foundation,” says Anne Robertson, President of the American Musicological Society. “With this award, the AMS aims to strengthen its connection to the national environment, which is home not only to a great variety of musicians and styles, but also to a vast music-loving public who keep American music alive and flourishing.”

Wells is the first Canadian professor to win the award. Previous winners include Albin J. Zak III (I Don’t Sound Like Nobody: Remaking Music in 1950s America), Robin D. G. Kelley (Thelonious Monk: The Life and Times of an American Original), and George E. Lewis (A Power Stronger Than Itself: The AACM and American Experimental Music). Wells is currently working on a book on British and American musical theatre in the late 1950s.

“We are very proud to see Elizabeth’s work recognized in this way,” says Dr. Karen Grant, Mount Allison’s provost and vice-president, academic and research. “It is always satisfying to receive a distinguished award such as this, but to receive that distinction from a group of your peers — all experts in your chosen field — is truly an honour.”

The American Musicological Society was founded in 1934 with the aim of advancing music research. Its membership is made up of 3,600 individuals and 1,100 institutions from more than 40 countries around the world.

The Canadian University Music Society and the SOCAN Foundation are happy to announce the winners of two prizes:

2012 SOCAN Foundation / George Proctor Prize:  Zoey Mariniello Cochran [Click here to see the full press release]

2012 SOCAN Foundation / CUMS Award for Writings on Canadian Music:  Deanna Yerichuk [Click here to see the full press release]

[English version follows]

La Société de musique des universités canadiennes et la Fondation SOCAN ont le plaisir de vous annoncer que le Dr. Beverley Diamond vient de remporter le Prix d’excellence de la Fondation SOCAN/SMUC pour l’avancement de la recherche en musique canadienne.

Cliquez ici pour le communiqué de presse.

The Canadian University Music Society and the SOCAN Foundation are pleased to announce that Dr. Beverley Diamond is the recipient of the inaugural SOCAN Foundation/CUMS Award of Excellence for the Advancement of Research in Canadian Music.

Click here to see the full press release

MusCan Office

MusCan is led by a committed community of volunteers from across Canada. You can contact our secretariat by mail, phone, or email.

10 Morrow Avenue, Suite 202
Toronto, ON
M6R 2J1
office [AT]